BlackBerry 10
Device Switch

 

BlackBerry Link

You can use BlackBerry Link to transfer supported data and settings such as phone history, media files, browser bookmarks, and so on to your new BlackBerry 10 device. Watch the Device Switch WebCast Series to learn more:

 

Transfer data to a new device using a computer and BlackBerry Link

BlackBerry Link is designed to move the data in your personal space but not the data in your work space.

If your previous device is running any of the following versions of device software, you can use BlackBerry Link to transfer data:

  • BlackBerry Device Software 5
  • BlackBerry 6, BlackBerry 7, or BlackBerry 7.1
  • BlackBerry 10 or later

Only the data saved locally in your device storage space is transferred. Any data that is wirelessly backed up or synced with a web-based account isn't transferred to your new device.

  1. On your computer, download and install BlackBerry Link from www.blackberry.com/BlackBerryLink.
  2. Open BlackBerry Link.
  3. Connect your previous BlackBerry device to your computer using a USB cable.
  4. If necessary, enter the password for your previous device.
  5. Click Transfer Data or Switch Devices > Transfer Data.
  6. Click Next.
  7. Complete the instructions on the screen.
  8. When prompted, connect your new BlackBerry 10 device to your computer using a USB cable.
  9. Select your new device in the list.
  10. Complete the instructions on the screen.
  11. Click Finish.
Use BlackBerry Link to transfer a backup file

If you create a backup file on your previous BlackBerry device, you can use BlackBerry Link to restore the backup file on your new BlackBerry device.

Note: If you're using a backup file from a BlackBerry 10 device, on your new device, you must sign in with the BlackBerry ID you used when you created the backup file.

  1. On your computer, open BlackBerry Link.
  2. Connect your current BlackBerry device to your computer using a USB cable.
  3. Click Switch Devices.
  4. Select the Restore supported data from a backup file you make from another device checkbox.
  5. Locate and select the backup file that you created from your previous device.
After you use BlackBerry Link to transfer your data
Add email and social networking accounts to your new device
  1. On the home screen, swipe down from the top of the screen.
  2. Tap Settings > Accounts.
  3. If necessary, tap Add Accounts.
  4. On the Add Account screen, tap a type of account.
  5. Enter your account information.
  6. If necessary, change any of the sync settings.
  7. Tap Done.
Add a work account supported by BES10 or BES12

If your organization uses BES10 or BES12, you can add your work account to your device and take advantage of features such as BlackBerry Balance. If your organization uses BES5 or earlier, you can still add your work account and have it use Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync. For more information, contact your administrator.

Make sure you know the following from your administrator:

  • Your username
  • Your enterprise activation password
  • Server name
  1. On the Add Account screen, tap Options > Work Account.
  2. Enter the username, activation password, and server address for your account.
  3. Tap Done.
Add an email account supported by Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync

Make sure you know the following from your administrator or your email service provider:

  • Your username
  • Your work network password
  • Server address

When you add an email account that is supported by Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync, the messages, calendar events, contacts, tasks, and notes that are associated with the account are synced with your BlackBerry device.

  1. On the Add Account screen, tap Options > Microsoft Exchang ActiveSync.
  2. Enter the username, email address, network password, and server address for the account.
  • To turn off push email, turn off the Push switch.
  • To set how frequently your device checks for new messages, in the Sync Interval drop-down list, tap an option.
  • To use your organization's VPN, turn on the Use VPN switch.
  • To select how far back in time your device syncs messages, in the Sync Timeframe drop-down list, tap an option.
  1. Tap Next.
Delete the data on your previous BlackBerry 10 device

After you transfer data to your new BlackBerry 10 device, consider deleting all of the data on your previous BlackBerry 10 device. A security wipe is designed to permanently delete the data on your device so that the data can't be recovered. This includes email accounts, downloaded apps, media files, documents, browser bookmarks, and settings.

If you have turned on data encryption, the process for deleting your device data can take up to an hour to complete. You can’t stop the process after you start it. If you reset your device, the process restarts after the device restarts.

  1. On your previous device, swipe down from the top of the screen.
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Tap Security and Privacy > Security Wipe.
  4. Type blackberry.
  5. Tap Delete Data.

When the security wipe is completed, your device turns off automatically. To turn on your device, press the Power/Lock key. If you're planning to give away or recycle your device, remember to also remove your SIM card and media card.

Delete the data on your BlackBerry device running BlackBerry OS (version 5.0 to 7.1)

After you transfer data to your new BlackBerry 10 device, consider deleting all of the data on your previous device running the BlackBerry OS (version 5.0 to 7.1). A security wipe is designed to permanently delete your data so that it can't be recovered. This includes email accounts, downloaded apps, media files, documents, browser bookmarks, and settings.you have turned on data encryption. The process for deleting your device data can take up to an hour to complete. You can’t stop the process after you start it. If you reset your device, the process restarts after the device restarts.

  1. On the home screen of your previous device, click the Options icon.
  2. Click Security or Security Options.
  3. Click Security Wipe.
  4. Select the items that you want to delete.
  5. Type blackberry.
  6. Tap Wipe Data or Wipe.

When the security wipe is completed, your device turns off automatically. To turn on your device, press the Power/Lock key.

Find apps for your new device

You can download and buy apps using the BlackBerry World storefront app or the Amazon Appstore app. Both apps are included on your BlackBerry 10 device. For more information about BlackBerry World and Amazon Appstore, search the Help app on your device.

Apps that you downloaded from BlackBerry World on your previous BlackBerry 10 device are available on your new device when you're signed in with your BlackBerry ID.

  1. To find the apps that you previously downloaded from BlackBerry World, in BlackBerry World, tap Menu > My World > My Apps > Games.
  2. Tap the Available tab.
  3. Beside the apps that you want to download, tap Download.

End of Accordion

End of Accordion

 

 

Footnotes Style

online support

on device support

To get help using your PRIV, simply click the BlackBerry Help icon.

BBM

Chat with friends on Android, BlackBerry and iPhone.